Matt B. | Recreational Services
The University of Iowa

Photo of Matt

Position: Lifetime Leisure Skills Course Assistant and Climbing Wall Attendant

Year/Major: I am majoring in Sports and Recreation Management with a focus in business. They tell me I'm a senior.

Hometown: Sioux City, Iowa

How long have you worked for us?: A little under two years.

What have you learned from working here?: I have learned that I am living in the same city with some of the most amazing, knowledgeable people.

What is something interesting about yourself?: I have had 7-8 majors depending on how you count it and will still graduate on time. Biology, computer science, took a semester and received my coaching certificate (that's the one that's debatable as a major), back to biology, public policy and ethics, political science, environmental science, and now sports and recreation management. 

What do you like to do in your spare time?: I enjoy reading books, long-boarding, slack-lining, mountain biking, and rock climbing. I spend more time falling than doing the actual activity (yes, even reading).

What is one thing you wish everyone knew about working in your position?: I wish people knew just how awesome the people I am surrounded by are.

Do you have any plans for after graduation?: After I graduate I hope to travel the country and climb tall rock faces and mountains. 

If you could eat any food every day for the rest of your life without any health consequences, what would it be?: Chocolate banana bread, no question about it.

 

*Matt was nominated for Faces of RecServ in Fall 2017