Leslie M. | Recreational Services
The University of Iowa

Photo of Leslie

Position: Supervisor

Year/Major: Senior studying Health and Human Physiology with a Minor in Psychology

Hometown: Alsip, IL. 

How long have you worked for us?: This is currently my 5th semester working for Recreational Services

What have you learned from working here?: Throughout the time I have been fortunate enough to work at the CRWC, I have learned the key points to effective communicaiton. The diversity in our environment has prepared me to handle varying situations that I may be faced with in the future. Holding the supervisor position has allowed me to work on my leadership skills, as well as teamwork. My relationships with professional staff has allowed me to progress professional and career based skills that are very useful while looking into future aspirations.

What is something interesting about yourself?: I speak two languages and can read music. I am addicted to wings; not proud, but it's getting better. I once went to The Vine 4 days in one week. The waitresses know my order by hear. To any of The Vine staff: if you are reading this, please bring back the cheddar bites. They were the best!

What do you like to do in your spare time?: I am a very in the moment type of person. In my spare time I like to make memories and enjoy simple things, be spontaneous every now and then. Whether it is hiking, kayaking, 'mocking, or simply sitting around a fire with my close friends, I love the outdoors. Laying down finding new good music makes my day. Yoga has changed my life. I love to laugh and I love to hear people laugh. 

What is one thing you wish everyone knew about working in your position?: The one thing I wish everyone knew about working my position is the exposure you get to some very genuine and kind hearted people. The patrons I have met that have changed my mornings just by asking how I am or sharing their positive energy have sculpted each of us, I believe. The staff I work with is amazing to watch grow and progress in their positions throughout the times, as well as getting to know their personalities. Professional staff does what they can to make sure you are succeeding in your education and endeavors by providing resources or even simple advice. You meet some extraordinary people. 

Do you have plans for after graduation?: I am hoping to continue my studies as a graduate student in order to pursue a Masters Degree in Prosthetics and Orthotics after graduating in Fall of 2019. 

If you could eat any food for the rest of your life without any health consequences, what would it be?: Traditional hot wings with fries, crispy, with an extra side of hot. Or my moms bomb mole (a traditional Mexican dish) with Spanish rice. 

 

*Leslie was nominated for Faces of RecServ in Spring 2019