Ben T. | Recreational Services
The University of Iowa

Photo of Ben

Position: CRWC Equipment Technician 

Year/Major: I'm a 4th year senior this year, majoring in Health and Human Physiology with a minor in English.

Hometown: I'm from the Los Angeles area, specifically Granada Hills, North of L.A.

How long have you worked for us?: I've worked for Rec Services for about two and a half years now.

What have you learned from working here?: When I first joined, I learned to be patient in learning from my supervisors, taking my time to master tasks that need meticulous work. Now I'm in more of a leadership role and I'm learning how to help out my coworkers every time I go in. 

What is something interesting about yourself?: When I first got to UI, I had 8 years of competitive swimming under my belt, but decided to take my talents to the Iowa Rugby team about a year ago. My teammates still call me out on my "Brick Hands."

What do you like to do in your free time?: I love coming to the CRWC to train! I also love spending time with my girlfriend, roommates, teammates, and the rest of the U-Iowa Community. I also love Cinema and reading.

Do you have any plans for after graduation?: I would love to spend some time traveling abroad, specifically ot the Philippines where my mother is from. Aside from that, I'm looking to get into grad school for Athletic Training.

If you could eat any food every day for the rest of your life, without any health consequences, what would it be?: My mom's or my girlfriend's cooking. Filipino and Italian dishes are heavy on carbs.

 

*Ben was nominated for Faces of RecServ in Spring 2018